Upcoming projects, navel-gazing and cocooning

I have spent a good chunk of time this week doing things as opposed to writing about things. A lot of this is in preparation of upcoming work. I have recently started blogging for the Jeune Chambre de Commerce de Montréal – I published my first post last week about women and careers.

I’m also doing some work this month for Marianopolis’ alumni mag, so I had the opportunity to hear Stephen Bronfman speak at the CEGEP on Thursday. That issue will only be out in November or December, so I guess that’s some delayed gratification for you right there.

Speaking of delayed gratification, I was pleased to take part in the recording of the first Red Couch Chats podcast on Wednesday. The idea for the podcast comes from three communications students at Concordia. For those who don’t hang out on the Loyola campus, the basement of the CJ building is a regular haunt for j-schoolers and coms students. It’s furnished with 10 red couches or so, varying from the loner-favourite one-seaters to wider two-pillow sofas. These three coms students spent so much time hanging out on the couches talking about life, they eventually decided they should record their conversations.

You could say the first episode’s overarching theme is death, but we talk about everything from what we would do if we knew our cause and time of death, to the death penalty, the meaning of YOLO, the criminal justice system and immortality. The producers want to have a few episodes in store before starting to release them, so in the meantime I encourage you to like the Facebook page to stay abreast of Red Couch news. I can say, with little exaggeration, that the hour spent in the recording studios on Wednesday night resulted in some of the most interesting conversation I have engaged in a long while.

In between my goings-about for school, writing work, and other activities, I have slowly been building my winter cocoon up for myself. This is especially true right now, on a stormy Friday night where I am literally snuggled into my bed with David’s Tea Peppermint Amour, laptop, books and magazines. (On the cover of Vanity Fair, Daniel Craig gazes seductively at me from his spot on my nightstand.)

(Side note: this kind of weather creates exactly the sort of mood that makes me want to read Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, a stellar novel from Susanna Clarke about magic in 19th century England. Even though it doesn’t fall in the steampunk genre, it does have a similar feel to it. It’s also on my list of all-time classics from my personal library. I highly recommend it and will be pleased to lend the paperback to anyone who is interested in reading)

Over the past seven months, I have been progressively putting a new routine for myself into place that is a lot less fast-paced than in last year. I have found it is easy to burn out when overburdened with engagements. It is hard to take time to enjoy with friends, or in one’s own company, when one is a zombie.

He’s a terrible conversationalist. Photo credit abovethelaw.com

And so my ratio of time spent going out (in a bars-n-clubs kinda a way, not a Jackie-is-a-recluse kind of way) versus time spent at home, with my family, working or immersed in reading is deeply skewed towards the latter. That trend will probably persist in the near future;. I am more likely to be in a hot chocolate and warm fire kind of mood when the weather outside is frightful.

____________________________________

I’m on the lookout of breaking news/general news/feature photos/portrait photo ideas in the next two weeks, so if you have any friends who are visually interesting (or do visually interesting work) or know of any events coming up, give me a head’s up.

____________________________________

This is an incredible story: an Indian boy gets lost and separated from his family after falling asleep on a train, only to find them years later using Google Earth : A Home at the End of Google Earth | David Kushner | Vanity Fair

I have the feeling that all you comic-savvy folks already know of Stuart McMillen’s existence. I recently discovered his comic strip about the War on Drugs. Not only is it a highly intelligent analysis of American drug policy, but the fact that it is not a wall-of-text article actually means that people might read it instead of being turned off the topic right away.

– Girl Friday

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

