Pokemon History, sort of!

I didn’t really do much writing this week but I did write this. Hope you guys enjoy!?

I was thinking this morning about pokemon this morning. We have all had that experience of tasting something delicious. Whether it be your first taste of chocolate cake or your first piece of french toast, a bit overcooked but drenched in syrup, they’re always amazing.
This was very much the case when I first played Pokemon! I was but a little child who had no idea what he was doing. I remember my first starter, Charmander. It was on my cousins pokemon version. We decided to play together and so off we went on our journey. We wandered around Pallet town fighting off those pesky pidgeys and the like. My cousin and I were so absorbed in the world that we didn’t pay any attention to what the game was telling us and merely ran around fighting pokemon until our Charmeleon evolved. (Kind of like my little cousins now when they play games.)
Once he evolved at level 16 we figured that there MUST be more to this game than Pallet town. Sad to say it took us much longer than either of us would like to admit to walk into the famous PokeMart (I find it so much more convinient to have the mart and center all in one! God bless you Black and White!). Once we discovered the PokeMart the rest of the game was amazing. I remember distinct feelings of awe at each gym and thinking how cool it was.
Coming back to pokemon for Black and White I found myself not enjoying Pokemon nearly as much as I used to when I was a kid. I didn’t find the same charm in the new pokemon, or the same lust to go out and discover the new world. I was sad that I didn’t enjoy it as much as I did. I put the game down the first night I’d played it and did some thinking. Most of my enjoyment when I was little was discovering all the cool pokemon. I remember the first time I encountered an Alakazam. I thought it was the most BADASS thing in the entire world and wanted one more than anything. I had very similar reactions to Nidoqueen, Rhydon, Charizard, Blastoise, Machamp and Onix. Through these thoughts I realized that the main reason that I disliked the new version was I found the pokemon unoriginal. Yet the original pokemon have many real life simlarities as well, they just never occured to me.
With this new mindset I set out and have had a wonderful time. It defintely isn’t like my first piece of chocolate cake or french toast, but it does taste good none the less.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

